How to Share Folder With Specific User in Windows 10

When you have multiple users, you are able to select which user to share the folder with. This is how you can share a folder with a specific user in Windows 10.

Windows makes it simple to talk about folders and files directly from the File Explorer. By default, if you share a folder, it is distributed to Everyone. As the name suggests, Everyone is a person group that lets any authenticated user access the shared folder. This group also includes the Guest account.

Though sharing folders with Everyone in the product is useful in a lot of situations, there can be a need for restricting a shared folder to some specific user. To achieve that, you have to manually share a folder with a specific user in Windows 10.

All you need to do is tell Windows with what users you want to share the folder with. When you do this, Windows will restrict other users from accessing the shared folder. Listed here are the steps to follow along with to share a folder with a specific user in Windows 10.

Steps to Share Folder With Specific User in Windows 10

Follow the steps listed below to share folder with specific user in Windows 10.

First, open the File Explorer and find the folder you need to share.
Right-click on the folder you want to share.
Select the “Give access to → Specific people” option make up the context menu.
Now, type the username in the blank field and click “Add”.
Once you click on the button, the user is going to be put into their email list.
Automatically, the permission level is placed to “Read-only”. i.e, the consumer can see files but cannot modify or delete them.
(Optional) If you want to allow read and write, click on the dropdown menu and select “Read/Write”.
After setting the permission level, click the “Share” button.
When you click on the button, the folder is shared with that exact user.
Click on the “Done” button to close the wizard.

That’s all. You’ve successfully shared a folder with a user in Windows 10. The consumer can then access that folder from the Network panel in the File Explorer.

Stop Sharing

If you ever want to take away the user, right-click around the shared folder, and select the “Give access to → Remove access” option.

Next, click the “Stop sharing” option.

If you wish to remove a particular user, choose the “Change sharing permissions” option, and select “Remove” from the Permissions level dropdown menu.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *